BibleAsk Team

Are there meats we should not eat?

What Are the Meats to Avoid?

Automobile manufacturers include “operations manuals” when they sell cars because they want people to have the optimum results. God, who created our bodies, also has an “operations manual” – the Bible. If we disregard God’s “operations manual” we will have negative health effects. But if we follow God’s health rules, this will lead to good health (Psalms 67:2), and more abundant life (John 10:10).

God gave health rules in Leviticus and Deuteronomy because He knows what is best for the our bodies. And He promised healing for those that obey. “And ye shall serve the Lord your God, and he shall bless thy bread, and thy water; and I will take sickness away from the midst of thee” (Exodus 23:25). Healthful living in itself goes far to protect a person from sickness of mind and soul as well as of body.

In Leviticus 11 and Deuteronomy 14, God very clearly teaches out that the meats of most animals, birds, and water creatures that people ordinarily consume, are clean. However, According to God’s rules, the following animal are unclean and are not to be eaten: hogs, squirrels, rabbits, catfish, eels, lobsters, clams, crabs, shrimp, oysters, frogs, and many others.

If God says a thing is not fit to consume, He must have a good reason. He is not a harsh dictator, but a loving Father. All His counsel is for our good always. The Bible promises: “No good thing will he withhold from them that walk uprightly” (Psalms 84:11). Therefore, when it comes to food, the Bible gives says: “Eat ye that which is good” (Isaiah 55:2). “Whether therefore ye eat, or drink, or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God” (1 Corinthians 10:31).

In His service,
BibleAsk Team

More Answers: