Are there meats we should not eat?

SHARE

By BibleAsk Team


Automobile manufacturers include “operations manuals” when they sell cars because they want people to have the optimum results. God, who created our bodies, also has an “operations manual” – the Bible. If we disregard God’s “operations manual” we will have negative health effects. But if we follow God’s health rules, this will lead to good health (Psalms 67:2), and more abundant life (John 10:10).

God gave health rules in Leviticus and Deuteronomy because He knows what is best for the our bodies. And He promised healing for those that obey. “And ye shall serve the Lord your God, and he shall bless thy bread, and thy water; and I will take sickness away from the midst of thee” (Exodus 23:25). Healthful living in itself goes far to protect a person from sickness of mind and soul as well as of body.

In Leviticus 11 and Deuteronomy 14, God very clearly teaches out that the meats of most animals, birds, and water creatures that people ordinarily consume, are clean. However, According to God’s rules, the following animal are unclean and are not to be eaten: hogs, squirrels, rabbits, catfish, eels, lobsters, clams, crabs, shrimp, oysters, frogs, and many others.

If God says a thing is not fit to consume, He must have a good reason. He is not a harsh dictator, but a loving Father. All His counsel is for our good always. The Bible promises: “No good thing will he withhold from them that walk uprightly” (Psalms 84:11). Therefore, when it comes to food, the Bible gives says: “Eat ye that which is good” (Isaiah 55:2). “Whether therefore ye eat, or drink, or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God” (1 Corinthians 10:31).

What Are the Meats to Avoid?

Animals that are not considered clean include those that do not meet specific criteria, such as having cloven hooves and chewing the cud for land animals, and having fins and scales for fish.

Here is a list of meats that are generally not considered kosher:

  1. Pork/Pig: Pork and pork products are explicitly prohibited in the Torah.
  2. Shellfish and Mollusks: Seafood that lacks both fins and scales, including shrimp, crab, lobster, clams, mussels, squid, and octopus.
  3. Predatory Fish: Fish without both fins and scales, such as catfish, shark, and eels.
  4. Land Animals without Split Hooves and Chewing the Cud: Mammals that do not have both cloven hooves and chew the cud, including pigs, camels, rabbits, and rodents.
  5. Birds of Prey and Scavengers: Certain birds, particularly birds of prey and scavengers, are not considered kosher. Examples include eagles, hawks, vultures, and owls.
  6. Insects: Insects are generally not considered kosher. However, there are varying interpretations, and some traditions may allow certain types of locusts.
  7. Mixtures of Meat and Dairy: The mixing of meat and dairy is prohibited. This includes not eating a meat product and a dairy product together or cooking them in the same utensils.
  8. Blood: Consuming blood is prohibited in kosher dietary laws.
  9. Gelatin from Non-Kosher Sources: Gelatin derived from non-kosher animals is not considered kosher. Gelatin is often used as a gelling agent in certain food products.
  10. Certain Processed Meats: Some processed meats may contain non-kosher ingredients or be processed on non-kosher equipment.

In His service,
BibleAsk Team

Leave a Reply

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments