What were the Lateran Councils?


By BibleAsk Team

What were the Lateran Councils?

The Lateran Councils were a series of ecclesiastical gatherings held in the Lateran Palace, the residence of the Pope in Rome. The Lateran councils played a significant role in shaping the history and doctrines of the Roman Catholic Church. The Lateran Councils are generally divided into five major events, spanning from the 12th to the 16th centuries. The Lateran Councils addressed various issues, including matters of faith, discipline, and ecclesiastical organization.

First Lateran Council (1123)

The First Lateran Council, convened by Pope Callistus II in 1123, marked a crucial moment in the history of the Catholic Church. Its primary purpose was to address the issue of investiture, the practice of secular rulers appointing bishops and other church officials. This practice had led to conflicts over the balance of power between the Church and secular authorities. The council aimed to establish the independence of the Church in matters of ecclesiastical appointments.

Among its key decrees, the First Lateran Council prohibited lay investiture, asserting that only the Church had the authority to appoint bishops. It also addressed issues related to simony (the buying or selling of ecclesiastical offices) and clerical celibacy. The council sought to reform the clergy and strengthen the Church’s authority.

Second Lateran Council (1139)

Convened by Pope Innocent II in 1139, the Second Lateran Council addressed various issues, including the schism that had arisen after the death of Pope Honorius II. One of its significant achievements was the condemnation of the Antipope Anacletus II, thereby restoring unity within the Catholic Church.

The council also reinforced the prohibition of simony and reiterated the commitment to clerical celibacy. Additionally, it dealt with heretical movements, such as the Cathars, by issuing canons aimed at suppressing heresy (denial of Roman Catholic dogma by a professed believer). The Second Lateran Council played a vital role in solidifying the authority of the papacy.

Third Lateran Council (1179)

The Third Lateran Council, convened by Pope Alexander III in 1179, focused on resolving conflicts within the Church and reinforcing its doctrinal foundations. One of the key issues addressed was the election of popes, as the council sought to establish rules and procedures to prevent future schisms.

The council also reiterated the Church’s stance on simony, heresy, and the independence of the Church in matters of appointment. Furthermore, it introduced the requirement of a two-thirds majority for papal elections, aiming to ensure a more representative and stable process.

Fourth Lateran Council (1215)

The Fourth Lateran Council, summoned by Pope Innocent III in 1215, is arguably the most significant of the Lateran Councils. It addressed a wide range of issues, including the reaffirmation of transubstantiation – the belief in the transformation of the bread and wine into the body and blood of Christ during the Eucharist, which is a solely a Catholic doctrine.

The council also mandated the annual confession of sins and communion for all Christians, emphasizing the sacrament of penance. It introduced the term “transubstantiation” to articulate the nature of the Eucharist more precisely. The Fourth Lateran Council also issued measures against heresy (opposition to Catholic teachings by Protestants), leading to the establishment of the Inquisition, a papal institution aimed at identifying and combating heretical movements by Protestants.

Moreover, the council addressed the status of Jews and Muslims in Christian territories, imposing restrictions on their rights and activities. It solidified the authority of the papacy and established the foundation for the medieval Church’s doctrinal and institutional framework.

Fifth Lateran Council (1512-1517)

The Fifth Lateran Council spanned several years, with sessions held between 1512 and 1517, during the pontificate of Pope Julius II and later Pope Leo X. This council primarily aimed to address the growing challenges posed by the Protestant Reformation led by figures like Martin Luther. However, due to various interruptions and delays, it did not achieve its intended goals.

The Fifth Lateran Council did issue important decrees on church reform, including measures to address the laxity and corruption within the clergy. However, its inability to effectively respond to the Protestant Reformation contributed to the continued division within Western Christianity.

In summary, the Lateran Councils played a major role in shaping the history, doctrine, and organization of the Roman Catholic Church. The Lateran Councils addressed issues ranging from investiture conflicts, fighting internal corruption, and combating Protestantism to doctrinal matters like transubstantiation, influencing the course of medieval Christianity.


In conclusion, the Lateran Councils, held at the Pope’s residence in Rome from the 12th to the 16th centuries, played a crucial role in shaping the history and doctrines of the Roman Catholic Church. These five major gatherings addressed significant issues of faith, discipline, and ecclesiastical organization, leaving a lasting impact on the Church’s development and governance.

We'd love your feedback, so leave a comment!

If you feel an answer is not 100% Bible based, then leave a comment, and we'll be sure to review it.
Our aim is to share the Word and be true to it.