What are the types of angels?

The Bible speaks of two types of angels: unfallen and fallen angels:

Un-Fallen Angels:

1-Gabriel is one of the main messengers of God, his name means “man of God.” This high angelic being declared of himself, “I am Gabriel, that stand in the presence of God” (Luke 1:19). He occupies the position from which Satan fell and stands next in honor and rank to Christ Himself (Daniel 10:21). It was Gabriel who appeared to Daniel (Daniel 8:16; 9:21) to announce the coming of “the Messiah the Prince” (Daniel 9:25).

In New Testament times, Gabriel appeared to Zacharias (Luke 1:19), to Mary (verses 26, 27), and perhaps it was he who appeared to Joseph (Matthew 1:20), to John on Patmos (Revelation 1:1), and who spoke of himself as “thy fellowservant, and [the fellowservant] of thy brethren the prophets” (Revelation 22:9).

2-Cherubim are living creatures who defend God’s holiness (Exodus 25: 18, 20; Ezekiel 1:1-18). One was placed in the Garden of Eden to guard the tree of life (Genesis 3:24). The Bible represents cherubim as belonging to the class of beings that are close to God and His throne (Ezekiel 9:3; 10:4; Psalms 99:1). For this reason cherubic figures were to be upon the ark and the curtains of the tabernacle (Exodus 25:18; 26:1, 31), and were afterward engraved upon the walls and doors of the Temple (1 Kings 6:29, 32, 35).

These beings seen by Ezekiel are represented as having four wings (Ezekiel 1:6). Two wings were covering the body and two wings stretched upward (Ezekiel 1:11). These angelic beings are constantly praising God, being God’s messengers to Earth, and are especially concerned with the holiness of God. They remind the believers to be zealous about guarding God’s glory.

3-Seraphim, literally means, “burning [ones],” or “shining [ones].” Seraphim are another class of angels mentioned only once in Scripture in Isaiah 6:2-7. They are described as having three pairs of wings.  Two wings covering the face, in an attitude of homage and reverence before God, another two wings covering the feet, and another two wings for flight. They worship the Lord saying, “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord who commands armies! His majestic splendor fills the entire earth!” (Isaiah 6: 3).

They also cleanse God’s people. In Isaiah 6:6-7, they touch Isaiah’s mouth with burning coals to cleanse him from sin to prepare him for God’s service (verse 6-9). They are the “burning ones” who remind the believers to be zealous in their worship and in cleansing themselves from all impurities (Romans 12:11; 2 Corinthians 7:1).

4-The Living Creatures of Revelation 4:6-9, 5:8, and 15:7 closely resemble those of Ezekiel’s vision (Ezekiel 1:5–26), which he calls cherubim (ch. 10:20–22). Unlike the cherubim who have four faces, the living creatures each have one—the face of a lion, an ox, a man, and an eagle.
The living creatures also have six wings, while the cherubim have four. Because they surround the throne of God, some believe that the living creatures represent creation before God. They are like God’s priestly worship leaders who stay around the throne worshiping God and leading others to do the same (Revelation 4:9-10; 1 Peter 2:9).

Fallen Angels:

When Satan fell (John 8:44; Luke 10:18), he drew after him one third of the angels (Revelation 12:4). Fallen angels have been divided into two groups:

1-Those that are free to deceive men and do evil in the world (Mark 5:9, 15; Luke 8:30).

2-Those who are bound in chains waiting the judgment of God (2 Peter 2:4; Jude 6). God will judge all fallen angels and destroy them at the end of time (Matthew 25:41; Revelation 20:10).

In His service,
BibleAsk Team

Leave a Comment